Joy Prescott, GLADES COUNTY, 2019

Joy Prescott has been an elementary educator for 17 years. Since 2014, she has served as a fourth grade math teacher at Pemayetv Emahakv Charter School, where she has been commended for her dynamic teaching style; her ability to engage students through “out-of-the-box” activities; and her impeccable work ethic. Over the last 5 years, she has participated in more than 25 student-focused professional development programs to enhance the instruction she provides her students.


Tammy Jerkins, lake county, 2018 

Tammy's love of teaching goes beyond mathematics. The relationships she builds within the classroom and school community make school her happy place. Tammy's students see someone who loves her job, accepts and loves all students, and is willing to go the extra mile to help them. The love of teaching and mathematics extends to her family as well.  Three of her children are also teachers.


Jessica solano, polk county, 2017 

A typical lesson in Jessica’s classroom has students actively solving for mathematical concepts presented through real-world tasks. She rarely gives direct instruction into new concepts, but rather, presents a situation to her class and guides students through identifying the new concept based on observations, critical thinking questions, and previous learning experiences. Students in Jessica’s class are excited to be given such an active role in their learning by taking ownership over the concepts being taught rather than sitting by as mere receivers of knowledge. 

Diane McKee.JPG

diane mckee, hillsborough county, 2016

Upon entering Diane’s classroom, the red bar swinging from the ceiling just beyond the doorway is the first thing everyone notices, especially students. Each day, students leap from the floor to tap a hand on the bar, smiles beaming when contact is made. While the term, “Raise the Bar” has been used in education for many years, it is Diane’s ability to remind the students of this goal daily that sets her apart from others.

Polk-Christie bassett.jpg

christie bassett, polk county, 2015

Christie believes that a teacher is a fiber in the overall fabric of a school - a virtual golden thread that connects a student to their community, school, fellow students and the learning opportunities surrounding them. Christie elaborates, "A teacher that is interlaced and intricately woven will never fray, building upon these fibers to create a solid garment that can warm an entire school and even a community." 

dorina sackman2014TOY.jpg

Dorina Sackman, orange County, 2014
National Teacher of the Year Finalist, 2015

"Believe. B.E.L.I.E.V.E. Be the Educators who Live to Inspire and Empower Via Excellence." This is Dorina's motto for all Florida teachers to live by for the 2013-2014 school year as we continue to believe in our children. Dorina has been educating and believing in English Language Learners from all around the globe. From third grade to seniors in high school, she treats her classrooms as a stage for children to celebrate their diverse backgrounds while still learning English and the necessary skills to become lifelong learners.

The Florida Teacher of the Year Program began in 1967 and honors outstanding classroom teachers. Florida District Teachers of the Year are recognized as an expert in their field and have demonstrated a superior capacity to guide students of all backgrounds and abilities to academic excellence. In accordance with Florida Statutes section 1012.77, the bureau coordinates the nomination and selection of the Florida Teacher of the Year and the Finalists. The Florida Teacher of the Year also serves as the Christa McAuliffe Ambassador for Education. In this role, s/he serves as a goodwill ambassador representing the Department of Education and teachers throughout the state.

Conney Dahn, Candi Dearing, Dorina Sackman-Ebuwa, Alex Lopes, Christie Bassett, Diane McKee, Samuel Bennett, Tammy Jerkins, Jessica Solano, Jean Lamar, Cheryl Conley, Shawn DeNight

Conney Dahn, Candi Dearing, Dorina Sackman-Ebuwa, Alex Lopes, Christie Bassett, Diane McKee, Samuel Bennett, Tammy Jerkins, Jessica Solano, Jean Lamar, Cheryl Conley, Shawn DeNight