Florida Department of Education Names Indian River County Educator Dr. Nicole Mosblech Teacher of the Year Finalist

May 7, 2019

FDOE Press Office

Florida Department of Education Names Indian River County Educator Dr. Nicole Mosblech Teacher of the Year Finalist 
~ Mosblech is one of five finalists to compete for the 2020 statewide Teacher of the Year ~

Vero Beach, Fla., May 7, 2019 – Today, Division of Public Schools Chancellor Jacob Oliva surprised Dr. Nicole Mosblech from Vero Beach High School in Indian River County with the news that she is one of five Teacher of the Year finalists. The statewide Teacher of the Year will be announced at the annual Florida Teacher of the Year Gala July 18 in Orlando.

“Dr. Nicole Mosblech has dedicated her career to ensuring all students have access to a high-quality education and develop an appreciation for the planet on which we live and rely,” said Commissioner of Education Richard Corcoran. “Dr. Mosblech not only grew the school’s Advanced Placement program, her students’ pass rate exceeded the national rate by 13.5 percentage points last year. Her classroom accomplishments combined with her civic involvement make Dr. Mosblech a terrific Teacher of the Year finalist.”

After graduating with her Bachelor’s Degree from the University of Scranton, Nicole Mosblech started out her career by teaching English in South Korea. In 2005, she moved back to the United States and began teaching science at the Vero Beach High School Freshman Learning Center before pursuing a doctorate in ecology at Florida Institute of Technology. Upon earning her Ph.D., she returned to Vero Beach High School, where she has been teaching ever since.  Dr. Mosblech teaches Advanced Placement and Honors-level Environmental Science, as well as Honors Chemistry. Outside of the classroom, she contributes to her students’ growth by sponsoring the Vero Beach High School Green Team and the Science Research Club; leading oyster mat construction with the Vero Beach Power Squadron and coastal cleanups. She also serves as member and chairperson of the City of Sebastian’s Natural Resource Board. 

This year’s five finalists were chosen from more than 176,900 public school teachers throughout the state. After each school district selects its Teacher of the Year, a selection committee representing teachers, principals, parents and the business community reviews each district application on the basis of outstanding ability to teach and communicate knowledge of the subject taught, professional development, philosophy of teaching, and outstanding school and community service.  

The Florida Teacher of the Year Program is made possible by generous sponsors: Florida Prepaid, State Farm, Helios Education Foundation, Florida Blue, Wells Fargo, Voya Financial®, Florida Power and Light Company, Publix Super Market Charities, Universal Orlando Resort, Blue Man Group and Herff Jones.                                                                                                                                                

For more about the Florida Teacher of the Year program, please visit Florida Teachers Lead.

Read More News...