Commissioner Stewart Names Glades County Educator Joy Prescott Teacher of the Year Finalist

Commissioner Stewart Names Glades County Educator Joy Prescott Teacher of the Year Finalist
~ Prescott receives $15,000 and chance to compete for statewide Teacher of the Year ~

Okeechobee, Fla., May 9, 2018 – Today, Commissioner of Education Pam Stewart surprised Joy Prescott in her classroom with a check for $15,000 and the news that she is one of five Teacher of the Year finalists. The statewide Teacher of the Year will be announced at the annual Florida Teacher of the Year Gala July 13 in Orlando. Each district’s Teacher of the Year will receive $10,000, and the state winner will receive a total of $20,000.

“Joy Prescott is an excellent example of a teacher who exemplifies commitment, determination and the importance of being a lifelong learner,” said Commissioner of Education Pam Stewart. “After 17 years as an educator, Prescott continues to pursue professional development opportunities to help her empower students to develop the skills necessary to succeed academically and personally. I appreciate that she sets high expectations and provides her students the support and encouragement they need to meet and exceed them. I am thrilled to congratulate her on this tremendous honor.”  

Joy Prescott has been an elementary educator for 17 years. Since 2014, she has served as a fourth grade math teacher at Pemayetv Emahakv Charter School, where she has been commended for her dynamic teaching style; her ability to engage students through “out-of-the-box” activities; and her impeccable work ethic. Over the last 5 years, she has participated in more than 25 student-focused professional development programs to enhance the instruction she provides her students.

She is the school’s lead fourth grade teacher, which enables her to meet regularly with school leadership and her colleagues to discuss strategies that have been successful, as well as ways they can work collaboratively to improve every student’s educational experience. Prescott was instrumental in the school’s adoption of an app that helps teachers stay connected with one another and with students and their families. She also mentors new teachers, spends time after school tutoring struggling students and serves on committees that contribute to the overall school culture.

This year’s five finalists were chosen from more than 198,700 public school teachers throughout the state. After each school district selects its Teacher of the Year, a selection committee representing teachers, principals, parents and the business community reviews each district application on the basis of outstanding ability to teach and communicate knowledge of the subject taught, professional development, philosophy of teaching, and outstanding school and community service.  

This program is made possible by our generous sponsors: Florida Prepaid, State Farm, Florida Blue, Telemundo, Helios Education Foundation, Wells Fargo, Publix, Florida Power and Light Company, Florida Lottery, Gulf Power and Herff Jones.

For more about the Florida Teacher of the Year program, please visit Florida Teachers Lead.