Commissioner Stewart Names Martin County Educator Patrick Farley Teacher of the Year Finalist

Commissioner Stewart Names Martin County Educator Patrick Farley Teacher of the Year Finalist
~ Farley receives $15,000 and chance to compete for statewide Teacher of the Year ~

Stuart, Fla., May 9, 2018 – Today, Commissioner of Education Pam Stewart surprised Patrick Farley in his classroom with a check for $15,000 and the news that he is one of five Teacher of the Year finalists. The statewide Teacher of the Year will be announced at the annual Florida Teacher of the Year Gala July 13 in Orlando. Each district’s Teacher of the Year will receive $10,000, and the state winner will receive a total of $20,000.

“Congratulations to Patrick Farley on being selected as one of five 2019 Teacher of the Year finalists,” said Commissioner of Education Pam Stewart. “His passion for educating Florida’s future generations has enabled him to have a profound impact on his students and to form strong positive relationships with their families. He possesses many outstanding qualities that make him an excellent role model for all educators, and it is a pleasure to recognize him.”

Farley has been an educator for 11 years, and he is currently a third and fourth grade gifted teacher at Crystal Lakes Elementary School, where he has taught a variety of grade levels since 2013. Martin County School District Superintendent Laurie Gaylord applauded him for his role in Crystal Lakes Elementary School improving its school grade from a “C” to an “A” last year, noting his well-documented success and designation as a High Impact Teacher. Farley has embraced the growth mindset concept, and he helps his students and colleagues realize they have a limitless ability to develop and improve and that failure is essential to achieving success. 

His involvement in the school community extends far beyond the classroom. Farley has chaired the Positive Behavior Intervention and Support committee, which includes training staff for working with behavioral challenges and the development of a reward system to reinforce positive student behavior. He also coaches the school’s track team, running and cubing clubs and the robotics team. 

This year’s five finalists were chosen from more than 198,700 public school teachers throughout the state. After each school district selects its Teacher of the Year, a selection committee representing teachers, principals, parents and the business community reviews each district application on the basis of outstanding ability to teach and communicate knowledge of the subject taught, professional development, philosophy of teaching, and outstanding school and community service.  

The Florida Teacher of the Year Program is made possible by generous sponsors: Florida Prepaid, State Farm, Florida Blue, Telemundo, Helios Education Foundation, Wells Fargo, Publix, Florida Power and Light Company, Florida Lottery, Gulf Power and Herff Jones.

For more about the Florida Teacher of the Year program, please visit Florida Teachers Lead.